New member, new Pup! Zygy's Diary
Hello everyone, I have a new 14 week old shepherd/collie mix pup. The mother is Border Collie/Australian Shepherd and the father is Rough Collie/German Shepherd and they are working dogs on a cattle farm. 

I decided to join this forum because my pupper is growing and showing some personality traits from the Border Collie side in him. He likes to have a job and sometimes drops his head and gets the eye look to focus on a task. He takes every task seriously, whether it is fetch or practicing sit. He doesn't really have any bad behaviors though, just typical puppy stuff he is still learning like when he gets over excited and a bit mouthy, ect. He was very shy of other dogs/people but is getting better. He started puppy class last week which uses all positive training and his shyness melted away within 15 minutes. 

In the past I have had Golden Retrievers and a Siberian Husky. I am new to the herding breeds but not to training. I have competed in agility and obedience before but many years ago. The husky had endless energy when she was young and was extremely smart, could open the closet, open the zipper to the dog bag and then open the jar of treats. I used her for skijoring and we did obediance. Took us a bit to figure out what was going on, we thought we had forgot to put the treats away for awhile. The Goldens did a mix of agility, flyball, ski-joring, obediance, and hunting, great dogs from working lines that were very much ready to always go themselves.

My plan for the pup is agility, flyball, disc dog, and possibly dock diving IF the dog likes it. I may also do some herding but need to find a trainer with stock for it as I live in an apartment. I will do basic obedience and hopefully the dog will eventually have good recall/control off leash but don't plan to peruse this heavily in terms of competing or heeling, ect. Tricks will be fun to do though Smile